Giro d’Italia: Yates runs to victory in the time trial, Van der Poel keeps the squad

Third, five seconds behind, van der Poel’s compatriot Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo – Visma).

Behind the 2017 Giro winner, Matteo Sobrero (BikeExchange – Jayco / + 0:13) and Briton Ben Tulett (Ineos Grenadiers / + 0:13) took fourth and fifth place.

As best German, Lennard Kämna (Bora – hansgrohe / + 0:17) finished eighth. In the meantime he had sat on the warm seat of the best time.

Tour of Italy

Experts look forward to Phase 3 – these are the best favorites


Buchmann falls after half the distance

Kämna’s teammate Emanuel Buchmann crashed about halfway through the race and therefore lost 57 seconds in the fight for the Giro win against Yates, the fastest in the time trial.

“My front wheel slipped in a combination of corners. Maybe we were riding with too high tire pressure. But I got back in the saddle quickly and I don’t feel bad,” explained Buchmann at the finish.

Highlights of the time trial frenzy: Yates fooled the specialists

British Alex Dowsett (Israel – Premier Tech) set the first benchmark very early in 12:23 minutes. He was then ousted by Dutchman Jos van Emden (Jumbo – Visma) in 12:19 minutes before his Italian teammate Edoardo Affini took the lead in 12:10 minutes. After finishing second in last year’s opening time trial, Affini was one of the top favorites in Budapest.

Kämna sets the best time

But when Kämna crossed the line, he too was defeated. The German was three seconds faster than the Italian and took the coveted ‘Hot Seat’ of the best time. He had to shake when 22-year-old Dutchman Thymen Arensman (Team DSM) crossed the finish line. But he missed Kämna’s record by a second.

Kämna rides on the hot seat of the Fischerbastei

But then the Italian time trial champion Matteo Sobrero (BikeExchange – Jayco) cut Kämna’s time by 4.65 seconds. But he didn’t stay at the top even for long, because Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo – Visma) literally flew to the track in the Dutch time trial champion’s jersey and was the first driver to stay under 12 minutes, the Giro team has took 11 minutes and 55. Winner of 2017.

The winning time? No, because right behind him was Simon Yates (BikeExchange – Jayco) and he was another five seconds faster. However, the Brit had to wait until the end to be sure of victory. Because even the opening round winner, Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin – Fenix), drove impressively in the Budapest corners and, as the last starter, ended up being just three seconds slower than the winner.

you might also be interested in:Giro 2022: all 21 stages with elevation profiles at a glance

Highlights of Stage 1: Kämna attacks, van der Poel takes Rosa

Tour of Italy

Eisel enthusiastic: “Lennard has left the gas stopped”


Tour of Italy

Aldag: “You can’t put aerodynamics together”


About the author


Leave a Comment