Eisbären Berlin are ice hockey champions again

The Berliners were able to clearly assert themselves in this decisive match. Bayern coach Julian Nagelsmann also watched the polar bears triumph from the stands.

Eisbären Berlin triumphantly defended the championship title in the German Ice Hockey League at EHC Red Bull Munich. On Wednesday night, the record-breaking DEL champions celebrated their ninth overall championship with a 5-0 (1-0, 3-0, 1-0) win over Bavarian rivals. After three games fought in the best of five series, goals from Matthew White (9th / 37th / 60th minute), Frans Nielsen (25th) and Marcel Noebels (26th) ensured the third victory they needed, which was clear this time.

The Munich squad has repeatedly despaired for outstanding national team goalkeeper Niederberger, who will move to the EHC for the new season. “Two or three mistakes: you can’t give them to the Berliners and we’ll cut our teeth against a man,” said Munich striker Max Kastner frustrated at MagentaSport before the final third.

Polar bears were clearly better

Former Berlin head coach Don Jackson’s EHC squad was only able to win the first game of the final series in a DEL season that was again hit by the crown pandemic. In the end, the Monaco side quite clearly missed their fourth title win after hat-trick from 2016 to 2018. Sovereign DEL main-round winner of coach Serge Aubin was too strong for that.

With their ninth title, Eisbären surpassed eight-time champions from Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mannheim, all or some of whom have still racked up their former Bundesliga titles. The Berliners confirmed last year’s title, won under different conditions. With even stricter corona regulations, last season ran without spectators. A year ago, in the playoffs, it took only two victories to advance or win the title.

About the author


Leave a Comment